Jump over the site's section navigation.

Robert G. Bone Scholarship

2014-2015 Application Process

Being designated a Bone Scholar is the highest honor an Illinois State undergraduate student can receive, and this honor contributes markedly to student success. Bone Scholars receive commemorative medallions and substantial cash prizes and have their names engraved on a metal plaque displayed permanently in the Bone Student Center. They are also formally recognized at a luncheon, at the University Scholarship Awards Ceremony in the fall, and at their commencement exercises. 

Scholarship Eligibility

Any nominee for a Bone Scholarship must meet the following minimum requirements:

  • Attend Illinois State University for at least four semesters (excluding summer) by June of 2014;
  • Have a current grade point average of 3.7 or higher;
  • Anticipate graduating no earlier than December 2014, and no later than August 2015.

Students who already have a bachelor’s degree are not eligible.

Selection Criteria

Bone Scholars are students who combine broad and excellent academic achievement with campus and community engagement. They are expected to have shown outstanding qualities of character and leadership. A twelve-member Bone Selection Committee carefully reviews the submitted applications and makes awards based on the following considerations:

  • The breadth, diversity, and quality of candidates’ academic work
  • The type and extent of activities in which candidates have been involved, both in the university and the community
  • Candidates' personal qualities of dependability, cooperation, and initiative as well as other criteria which may be determined by the committee

Bone Scholarship winners will be announced as soon as they are selected, usually in early May.

Nomination Form

  • Department Nomination form: Complete this form, print, obtain the signature of your department chairperson, and submit it along with 2 nomination letters. Nominations are due no later than February 3, 2014.

The nomination form is in Microsoft Word format (.doc). Please contact us if you need an alternate form of this document.

Information for Nominees

Application form and checklist (word document)

Over the years, the Bone Scholar Selection Committee has noticed several ways in which some Bone Scholar applications could be improved and made more competitive. The purpose of the following note is to describe some of those ways.


Back to top

Past Bone Scholars

The most recent three years of Bone Scholars are listed below. You can also find the names and majors of every Bone Scholar since 1967.

2013-2014 Bone Scholars

Molly Beil, Public Relations
Jacob Birlingmair, Biological Sciences
Adrienne Boni, Music Therapy/Music Performance
Kelsey Bunner, Acting
Teresa Finegan, Nursing
Jessica Garber, English/Political Science
Thomas Hopper, Elementary Education
Jason Hufendick, Business Administration/Finance
Jade Kestian, Psychology
Brian Kulaga, Special Education
Joseph Powers, Biological Sciences
Brian Rohman, Communication Studies
Andrew Steinacher, Computer Physics
Mackenzie Walker, Biochemistry Molecular Biology/Psychology


2012-2013 Bone Scholars

Ethan Boldt, Criminal Justice/Political Science
Ashley Brown, Elementary Education
August Cassens, English
Mark Donahue, Music Education
Danielle Froehlich, Bilingual/Bicultural Education
Kesav (Casey) Gandham, Marketing
Jenna Grites, English Education
Michael Kaschke, Finance
Megan Lawler, Biological Sciences
Maggie Leonard, Speech Pathology/Spanish
Caleb Malik, Communication Studies
Nancy O'Neill, Music Education
Daniel Rosen, Bachelor of Fine Arts
Katherine Wolf, English Education


Back to top

2011-12 Bone Scholars

2014-04-07T16:22:02.083-05:00 2014